Macadamia Nut Garden Fresh Pesto

I’ve always been a big fan of pesto.  It’s become one of my favorite ways to dress up salads recently as well.  We have a small (3 plants) herb garden on our balcony and when I returned home from my hunting trip, I found that the basil plant had grown quite a bit so what better opportunity was there to trim it up some and make my own pesto?  Now traditionally, pesto is made with pine nuts but I decided to use raw macadamia nuts (a little more expensive I know) since they are naturally ketogenic in nature with a 3:1:1 ratio of fat:carbs:protein.  I was fortunate enough to have a grocery store that sold them in bulk, but if that’s not an option for you, try online.  Amazon has some really good deals.  The result from the macadamias was a much creamier texture and flavor and it came out great.


  • 2 cups packed fresh basil leaves
  • 3/4 cup extra virgin olive oil (I like Kasandrinos brand)
  • 1/3 cup raw macadamia nuts
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 tbs lemon juice
  • 3 tbs finely grated Kerrygold Dubliner cheese or other pastured parmesan-like cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste


In a blender or food processor, pulse macadamia nuts until finely chopped.  Add garlic cloves and basil leaves and pulse until evenly combined.  Add olive oil and lemon juice and blend until smooth.  Mix in cheese and add salt and pepper to taste.  Enjoy on salads or as a substitute for marinara sauces or even on the ketogenic pizza!

This entry was posted in Epilepsy, Ketogenic, Paleo, Recipes, Sauces and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

