Paleo Mayo

I’ve always been a fan of mayo.  It was one of my favorite condiments for sandwiches, meat, and even dipping veggies in.  Now that I’m eating a ketogenic paleo diet for epilepsy, I found that utilizing mayo is a great way to keep my fat content up.  It’s also infinitely customizable.  Add a couple extra ingredients here or there and you have a great way to spice up your mayo.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup Olive Oil
  • 1/2 cup Avocado Oil
  • 2 whole eggs
  • 1/2 tsp mustard powder
  • 1 T lemon juice
  • 1 clove fresh garlic

Directions:

In a food processor, combine all ingredients except oil.  Pulse until thoroughly combined.  Add oil slowly (1 T at a time) to egg mixture and process.  If you add oil all at once, you will not get emulsified mayo but oily eggs instead.

*Note* If you want to spice up your mayo, a couple ways I like to do it is add 2 chipotle chiles in adobo sauce (make sure your adobo is wheat free as some products contain wheat, I like La Morena brand) to the above recipe.  Pulse until smooth.

Another of my favorite way to enjoy this recipe is a wasabi mayo.  Just at 1-2 T Wasabi powder (depending on your tastes) to above mayo recipe and whisk in until smooth.

This entry was posted in Epilepsy, Ketogenic, Paleo, Recipes, Side dish and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Paleo Mayo

  1. Pingback: Grilled Smoky Coulotte | thefreerangehuman

  2. Qupia says:

    I didn’t spice my mayo up but I did use your recipe and everything turned out great 🙂 Thank you for posting.

Leave a Reply

