Smoked Paprika Oven Roasted Salmon

This is just a different way to look at salmon really.  I was getting tired of eating it either grilled on a cedar plank or poached in the salmon chowder recipe from Everyday Paleo.  Although I love both recipes, I wanted to think a little outside the box and apply my long standing obsession of smoked paprika in some way.  I opted to use a sweet and savory combination that I think turned out quite well.


  • 1 lb wild salmon fillet, skin removed
  • leaves from 4 sprigs fresh thyme
  • juice of a tangelo
  • zest of a tangelo
  • 1 Tbs smoked paprika
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tbs olive oil
  • Salt to taste


Combine the olive oil, tangelo juice and half the thyme leaves in a glass container.  Add salmon to container and coat both sides.  Cover container and refrigerate 30 min to an hour.  While salmon is marinating, combine remaining spices and zest in a bowl and set aside.    Remove salmon from marinade and rub evenly with spice mixture.  Place salmon on a sheet pan with a rack on top for better air circulation.  Roast salmon in a 425 degree preheated oven for 10 minutes or until salmon flakes easily with a fork.  Serve over Southern Style Braised Greens.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Main Dish, Paleo, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Smoked Paprika Oven Roasted Salmon

  1. Yay .. .I found a recipe to try my smoked paprika with! I just bought smoked paprika because I was curious about what it tasted like and hadn’t found a recipe yet … until now. Thanks for posting – this sounds great!

  2. primalpat says:

    I adore paprika; it makes everything look and taste beautiful. Well done!

    But, I have to ask: what’s a tangelo?!

  3. Seanbelly says:

    Nice recipe, I changed the cinammon to cayenne pepper and it was great.

  4. Pingback: Baked Salmon in a Honey Dijon mustard sauce « thewhitedish

Leave a Reply

