Duck Fat Yucca ‘Fries’

Yucca Root

Ever since I heard yucca fries brought up during one of Robb Wolf’s podcasts asan alternative to sweet potatoes, I’ve been curious to try them.  Don’t get me wrong, I love me some sweet fries, but after eating paleo for just about two years, it’s about time that I experiment with an alternative, you know, just to add a little variety into the mix.

So a few nights ago, we were having some friends over for dinner and I decided to give them a try as an appetizer.  They didn’t disappoint.  They tasted just like french fries but were more nutritionally dense than regular white potatoes.

Ingredients:

  • 1 3lb Yucca root
  • 4 cups water
  • 3-4 whole cloves garlic, peeled
  • 2-3 dried bay leaves
  • Duck Fat for frying
  • Salt to taste

Directions:

Add water, garlic cloves and bay leaves to a pot of water and bring to a boil.  While water is boiling, peel yucca root and julienne cut it into fries.  When water is boiling, add yucca root and cook for 15 minutes.  Strain and set aside.

In a separate pot, add duck fat and heat to 375 degrees (on my stove, about a medium-high heat).  When fat is hot enough, add yucca fries carefully not to burn yourself (the pot I used was small in order to use a minimal amount of duck fat, so I had to fry the yucca in smaller batches).  Fry yucca for about 10 minutes or long enough to get a light golden brown.  Remove fries from pot and place on a paper towel.  Add salt immediately, and serve while hot.  Don’t be surprised if these go fast.  These went so fast when I was making them, that I didn’t even have time to get a picture of the finished product.  Repeat frying process until all yucca is cooked.

Just like saving bacon fat, you’re going to want to save your duck fat when you’re finished so you can use it again later.  A mason jar works perfectly for such a task.

If you don’t have duck fat on hand, use one of these alternate fat sources:

Since I wasn’t able to get an ‘after’ picture of these beauties, I decided to make them again, but this time as ‘chips’.  The cooking process was exactly the same but instead of julienned ‘fries’ I used my food processor’s slicing blade to cut the yucca into chips.  They came out just as tasty but I was able to save these and eat them cold since they were in the form of chips.  Great alternative!

Yucca chips made for a great snack later

This entry was posted in Paleo, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Duck Fat Yucca ‘Fries’

  1. I forgot all about yucca! Let’s see if I can find it at the grocery store!

Leave a Reply

