Bacon Wrapped Chili Dogs

Grass Fed Beef Hotdogs!

This past weekend my girlfriend was out so I was left to fend for myself for dinner.  I had just received a smoker box for my grill a few weeks prior as a gift and I wanted to try it out.  I took a handful of applewood chips and soaked them in water to get them ready for smoking.  While the chips were soaking, I looked in the fridge to see what I could grill.  Unfortunately, I had all 40lbs of my grass fed ground beef as well as all my steaks in the freezer.  The only items I had ready for the grill were, leftover paleo chili my girlfriend made a couple nights before, uncured bacon (of course), and some grass fed uncured beef hot dogs from Applegate Farms.  With that amount of limited resources, I decided the only responsible thing for me to make was quite possibly, the ultimate ketogenic, paleo meal: bacon wrapped chili dogs.

Ingredients:

  • Grass Fed Uncured Beef Hot Dogs
  • Uncured bacon
  • Paleo Chili
  • Applewood chips

Process:

Remove applewood chips from water, pat dry, and place in smoker box.  Place smoker box on grill and turn grill on high.  While grill preheated, I wrapped each hot dog with a strip of bacon, securing it on both sides with a tooth pick.  I also have a small cast iron pot that is suitable for the grill that I put my chili in.  This way, it will get some extra smoky flavor from the smoker box.  By now, the smoker box is putting out significant smoke, so I added the hotdogs and the cast iron pot of chili to the grill, turned it down to low, and closed the lid.  I let the hotdogs cook about 30-40 minutes, turning them every 10 minutes until the bacon is crispy.

Once the bacon is nicely cooked, I took everything off the grill and spooned the chili over the hotdogs.  It turned out just as good as I was hoping, but the smoker box added another dimension of flavor.  Overall, it was a great test run and I can’t wait to use it more often.

This entry was posted in Ketogenic, Paleo, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bacon Wrapped Chili Dogs

  1. bbqesquire says:

    These look great! I just happened across your blog today and really enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

