Unexpected Meat Stockpile!

The 21 Day Sugar Detox is winding down and I knew that the Whole Foods in El Segundo is having a sale today on wild caught sockeye salmon for $8/lb instead of $17/lb, so I met my girlfriend there during my lunch break so I could stock up(and she would take them home to freeze).  Turns out she had already picked up 2lbs earlier today but I wanted some more.  I decided on getting an additional 8lbs to turn our haul into an even 10lbs.   After loading up on my salmon fillets, I decided to check out the meat counter to see if they had any deals going on not thinking there would be anything significant, but when I got there, I discovered something even more amazing.

This is not a misprint...cheap GF Beef for the taking!

That’s right.  Grass fed ground beef for $1.99/lb originally priced at $7.99/lb!  I had to ask the butcher if that price was right.  When he said yes indeed it was, I thought for a brief moment, ‘thank God for my deep freezer’ and then asked for 15lbs.  The butcher gave me a confused look at first and asked me to repeat myself.  I told him yes, I do in fact, want 15lbs of the 2 dollar grass fed ground beef.  Turns out, 15lbs of ground beef is what those trays in the display case hold as I took out the entire amount and he had to replace it with a fresh tray.

I ended up leaving WF with the same usual subtotal around $100 but this time, I had over 25lbs of wild caught/grass fed meat in my cart.  Not a bad deal at all.  I might go back after work and grab some more!  They have other stuff on sale too from fryer chickens at $1/lb to wild caught cod and sardines at $4/lb.  If you’re in the LA area, do yourself a favor and grab some of this ridiculously cheap yet high quality meat.  This will definitely keep me going until the end of the 21 DSD and beyond.

This entry was posted in Paleo. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Unexpected Meat Stockpile!

  1. Pingback: Farmers Market Spring Veggie Medley with Wild Shrimp | thefreerangehuman

  2. Pingback: Broiled Lobster Tails in Herb Butter | thefreerangehuman

Leave a Reply

