21 Day Sugar Detox Week 1

So, not only is it my last day here in my childhood home of Boulder, CO but today also marks the end of the 1st week of the 21 Day Sugar Detox that I am undergoing to kickstart the new year and put meback into a state of ketosis.

So far, everything is going great.  Usually, the sugar/grain cravings that come with going strict paleo again after awhile of not eating quite so clean, are pretty intense for me.  Lots of aggravation, depression, and overall moodiness follow me around anywhere from 7-10 days.  This time however, I felt great on day two and by the end of the first 7 days, my sugar cravings are gone!  I’ve lost 5lbs, which is more likely than not, all water weight.  But that’s ok.  It’s 5 less pounds to lug around everyday.  My ankle is starting to feel a little bit better although it’s definitely not fully recovered (I wasn’t expecting it to in such a short time), but it does feel noticeably better.

Also, the most important thing really, is that my mental clarity has really improved.  For the past few weeks I felt like my mind was stuck in a permanent fog.  About 4 days into this detox, and I can think clearly again!  I’m much more alert and focused and I don’t feel like I’m trying to do calculus based physics all the time.  This is huge in terms of epilepsy as well. I find that I’m more foggy headed when I’m closer to seizure activity.

Can’t wait to continue on to the next week of this sugar detox!  So long Colorado, hello Los Angeles.

This entry was posted in Epilepsy, Ketogenic, Paleo. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

